Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua and Barbuda (/ænˈtiːɡ(w)ə … bɑːrˈb(j)uːdə/ (About this soundlisten); an-TEE-g(w)ə … bar-B(Y)OO-də) is a sovereign island country in the West Indies in the Americas, lying between the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. It consists of two major islands, Antigua and Barbuda separated by 63km (39 miles), and smaller islands (including Great Bird, Green, Guiana, Long, Maiden, Prickly Pear, York Islands and further south, the island of Redonda). The permanent population number is about 95,900 (2018 est.), with 97% being resident on Antigua. The capital and largest port and city is St. John’s on Antigua, with Codrington being the largest town on Barbuda. Lying near each other, Antigua and Barbuda are in the middle of the Leeward Islands, part of the Lesser Antilles, roughly at 17°N of the equator.

View more:

St. John’s, Antigua and Barbuda

St. John’s is the capital and largest city of Antigua and Barbuda, part of the West Indies in the Caribbean Sea. With a population of 22,219, St. John’s is the commercial centre of the nation and the chief port of the island of Antigua.

View more:,_Antigua_and_Barbuda